Blog Entry

Charles Woodson not ejected after thrown punch

Posted on: September 8, 2011 11:21 pm
Edited on: September 8, 2011 11:34 pm
  •  
 
Posted by Will Brinson

One of the NFL's rules is that "striking an opponent with fist" is illegal and will result in a 15-yard penalty and an ejection in the even that it's flagrant.

So Charles Woodson probably shouldn't have played the last quarter and a half against the Saints after he threw an uppercut David Thomas' way.

On a first and 10 from the 36, the Saints ran the ball to the left side. Woodson was blitzing but missed the play and while coming back to the runner got entangled with Thomas. A quick tussle ensued and Woodson swung at Thomas, which you can see to the right, courtesy of Chris Chase of Yahoo.

Sean Payton quickly pointed out that the referees "gotta throw a flag."

They did, and Woodson was given an unnecessary roughness penalty, but he should have been ejected because he winded up and threw a punch at Thomas given how flagrant it was.

But the referees decided to leave Woodson in and the Packers began to pull away thanks to some big defensive stops. He'll likely see a fine coming his way from Park Avenue, but if the Packers win the game because he stuck around, it'll be worth it.

For more NFL news, rumors and analysis, follow @EyeOnNFL on Twitter and subscribe to our RSS Feed.
  •  
Comments

Since: Jun 28, 2007
Posted on: September 9, 2011 8:36 am
 

No it doesn't

Well that makes up for the BS pass interference penalty at the end of the game on AJ Hawk

No it doesn't...



Since: May 21, 2007
Posted on: September 9, 2011 8:31 am
 

Charles Woodson not ejected after thrown punch

Well that makes up for the BS pass interference penalty at the end of the game on AJ Hawk the officials didnt know what they were doing they seemed almost startstruck and nervous. It was obvious that AJ made a play on the ball and that play alone gave the Saints a second chance to win the game, if your going to write about blown calls write about all of them in a game not just the ones from the losing team. Also with the Woodson uppercut David Thomas continued to block him well after the whistle so there shoulda been a late hit penalty on him as well which would have made the penalties a wash.



Since: Jun 28, 2007
Posted on: September 9, 2011 8:15 am
 

That was a wasted punch

He should have went lower...



Since: Nov 20, 2009
Posted on: September 9, 2011 6:16 am
 

Charles Woodson not ejected after thrown punch

It's what you call "home cookin'"... If the game was in N.O., he probably would've been ejected.  



Since: Apr 6, 2007
Posted on: September 9, 2011 3:46 am
 

Charles Woodson not ejected after thrown punch

You all are smokin' krack!  The penalty was called correct...next issue!



Since: Apr 4, 2010
Posted on: September 9, 2011 12:19 am
 

Charles Woodson not ejected after thrown punch

He should be suspended for the next game.  He only won the Heisman because he went to Michigan, just like Desmond Howard.  At least Howard is a nice guy.



The views expressed in this blog are solely those of the author and do not reflect the views of CBS Sports or CBSSports.com