Tag:Football Hall of Fame
Posted on: July 6, 2011 3:44 pm
Edited on: July 6, 2011 4:10 pm

CBS Sports' Jim Nantz named Rozelle Award winner

Posted by Will Brinson

CBS Sports' own Jim Nantz, one of the all-time great NFL announcers, was named the Rozelle Award winner by the Pro Football Hall of Fame on Wednesday.

Nantz will be presented with the award, which recognizes “long-time exceptional contributions to radio and television in professional football, at the Hall of Fame Enshrinees' Dinner on August 5 in Canton, Ohio.

“It’s one of the greatest honors you could ever receive in our industry,” says Nantz. “I’m grateful to the Pro Football Hall of Fame for this recognition and thrilled to be in the company of the past recipients of the Pete Rozelle Award.”
Canton Happenings

Nantz, best known as the lead play-by-play voice on CBS Sports' "The NFL Today" and as the voice of the Masters, is a five-time Sportscaster of the Year award winner and a two-time Emmy-Award winner.

In becoming the youngest-ever winner of the Rozelle Award, Nantz joins legendary television names like Dan Dierdorf, Dick Enberg, Ed Sabol, Don Meredith, Pat Summerall, Frank Gifford and Jack Buck (to name a few) on an exclusive list of television and radio greats.

For more NFL news, rumors and analysis, follow @cbssportsnfl on Twitter and subscribe to our RSS Feed.

The views expressed in this blog are solely those of the author and do not reflect the views of CBS Sports or CBSSports.com