Posted on: May 2, 2011 6:22 pm
Edited on: May 3, 2011 7:54 am

Pro Football Writers of America awards announced

Posted by Andy Benoit

The Pro Football Writers of America has announced its awards for 2011.

The Good Guy Award (given to the player that best helps the media do its job) goes to Aaron Rodgers. This is the fourth-straight year a quarterback has taken the honor (Drew Brees won it in 2010).

The Horrigan award is given to the person (not a player or team public relations staffer) whose qualities and professional style help the media best do its job. The 2011 Horrigan winner: Rex Ryan. (His quotes alone wrote half the stories for all football writers this past year.)

The Rozelle Award goes to the public relations staff that consistently strived for excellence in dealing with the media. This year’s winner is the Baltimore Ravens. (Very well-deserved, says yours truly.)

Titans offensive coordinator Mike Heimerdinger won the Halas Award for overcoming the most adversity (Heimerdinger was diagnosed with cancer during the season).

Finally, 32-year veteran Milwaukee Journal-Sentinel reporter Bob McGinn took home the McCann Award, which goes to the reporter that has made a long and distinguished contribution to pro football.

For more NFL news, rumors and analysis, follow @cbssportsnfl on Twitter and subscribe to our RSS Feed.
The views expressed in this blog are solely those of the author and do not reflect the views of CBS Sports or CBSSports.com